Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Meatless Meatballs!

on December 2, 2013

Last night I came upon a recipe for Meatless Meatballs and decided to make that for dinner tonight.  It involves blending lentils, mushrooms, spices and oats in a food processor, then cooking the mixture in a pan along with onions and garlic.  I didn’t have enough mushrooms so I added green pepper, plus I skipped parsley (because I don’t like it).  The mixture seemed kind of dry and I ended up adding an egg as binder.  Here’s a picture of the mixture, with some granola I made this morning.

meatballs

The granola is from a Food Network recipe, from “Southern At Heart.”  It has coconut oil and lots of nuts.  I like that there is only 1/4 cup of oil in the whole recipe, yet it is crunchy.

Back to the meatballs…I scooped them out with a cookie scoop, and ended up with 23.  (The recipe says it yields 15.)  Someone couldn’t wait until everything else was ready so a few were snatched from the cookie sheet.  They look like meatballs made with meat.

Meatless-Monday-2

I wanted to taste them on their own, without a lot of sauce, since it is the first time making the recipe.  We also had mashed potatoes with feta cheese, and crudites (with some leftover salad dressing from Thanksgiving).  The meatballs weren’t bad, I’m sure they would have been better with the correct amount of mushroom.  I might try meatball sandwiches with some of the leftovers.

Meatless-Monday-1

Leave a Reply

