Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Collard Rolls (and Baked Eggplant Parmesan)

on November 20, 2013

The CSA I’m in won’t have produce this week and next, due to recent frost.  In the meantime, I’m busy with what I got last week.  Tonight we had collard rolls, with red & black beans, rice, sweet potato, avocado, and cheese.  I had a lot of leftovers (rice, sweet potato) so it wasn’t too much work.  I blanched the collard leaves for about 30 seconds in boiling water.  I also trimmed some of the stem off.  I didn’t cut it out otherwise the leaf would have a slit in it.  Instead, I thinned the stem horizontally.  Here they are before rolling them up.

DSCN3945

And after.  I made two small ones for each of us, instead of bigger rolls.  I wanted to have more greens instead of making a side salad or veggies.  I was surprised at how much I liked the bean and sweet potato combination.  I’ve made sweet potato bean chili before, but having the components cooked separately was better.  I tried two different cheeses too (sharp cheddar and Kerrygold Ballyshannon).  The Kerrygold cheese was amazing.  The CSA components were the collard greens, Anaheim and jalapeno peppers (in the beans), and sweet potato.

DSCN3944

Last night we had baked eggplant parmesan sandwiches.  I had inherited a Galloping Gourmet convection oven from my sis-in-law.  It worked great for the baked eggplant.  Here’s the eggplant cooked, and the rolls toasting in the “oven.”

DSCN3939

I used bolillo rolls instead of ciabatta.  For sauce, I used Trader Joe’s bruschetta sauce, and added sauteed green pepper, onions, and garlic, plus added mozzarella and basil.  Baking the eggplant made it light and airy.  I didn’t spray it with any oil either, the panko made it crispy.  The eggplant was from the CSA, plus I threw in an Anaheim and jalapeno with the green peppers, and I had basil from the previous week.  The green peppers were from my sis-in-law’s vegetable garden.  She had to harvest all the peppers due to the frost.

DSCN3940

Leave a Reply

