Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Kale “Tacos”

on November 15, 2013

My CSA share this week is similar to last week:  collards, eggplants, peppers (Anaheim and jalapeno), Malabar spinach, sweet potatoes and daikon radish.  I had kale left from last week, which I wanted to cook before starting on the new produce.  I’d tried kale tacos seasoned with chile powder and cumin before, and I didn’t really like it.  I thought it would be better without seasoning, so that’s what we had.  The taco filling was sauteed kale & onions and sauteed peppers & onions & garlic, plus tofu and feta.  Plain baked sweet potatoes (with butter and brown sugar) on the side.  Definitely better without the “taco” seasoning.

DSCN3910

For dessert, we’re having buttermilk pie.  I found a recipe that uses a graham cracker crust.  The recipe calls for 2/3 cup of brown sugar, which is a LOT less than the last recipe I tried (from Homesick Texan).  It also has less butter.

DSCN3909

Both recipes are good, just different.  The pie I made today has more of a cheesecake flavor.  It was easy to make too.  The crust ingredients are whirred up in the food processor, as well as the batter.

DSCN3914

One response to “Kale “Tacos”

  1. Ani says:

    I love different taco fillings – lentils and chickpeas are also great!

Leave a Reply

