Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Tofu Fajitas

on November 4, 2013

I was feeling tired today because of the time change.  Yesterday it didn’t bother me but today I had a headache from eating an hour later than usual, in addition to doing some paperwork.  I didn’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.  I didn’t want leftovers either, so I made tofu fajitas, along with some roasted peppers from the CSA.  I put the peppers (Anaheim) under the broiler until the skin got puffy.

DSCN3797

Then I put them in a bowl and covered it with a silicon bowl cover (Coverflex), to steam the skin.  I ended up with about a tablespoon of chopped peppers.

DSCN3799

For the tofu, I cut it into strips and weighed it down between two plates, to get rid of some of the moisture.  Then I sprinkled them with some fajita seasoning and Penzey’s Arizona Dreaming spice blend, and sauteed them in a pan on the stove.  I also sauteed some peppers and onions.

DSCN3801

Everything got put into a burrito, on a Ezekiel sprouted grain tortilla, along with some rice, refried beans, salsa, cheese, and lettuce.  I took the photo before adding the salsa and lettuce, so the other ingredients would be more visible.  It tasted “healthy” in a good way.  I like tofu, but skeptics might like it too because there are so many other ingredients.  Plus, the peppers were HOT!  Sour cream would be good, to cool down the heat.

DSCN3822

Leave a Reply

