Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Indian-Spiced Twice Baked Sweet Potatoes and Braised Collards

on November 3, 2013

Tonight’s recipes are from the Cook’s Illustrated Cookbook.  First is braised collards (Winter Greens, in the cookbook).  I liked that the greens are cooked in a minimum of water, so none of the vitamins are drained off.  Very simple and tasty, just greens, onion, garlic, crushed red pepper, chicken broth and water (plus lemon juice, which I skipped).

DSCN3791

I found a recipe for Indian-spiced mashed sweet potatoes in the cookbook.  Since the sweet potatoes I have are organic, I did twice-baked instead, using essentially the same ingredients as for the mashed potatoes – butter, brown sugar, and garam masala.  I topped them with chopped cashews and skipped the golden raisins (because I didn’t have any).  It was kind of a cross between sweet and savory.  Different, in a good way.

DSCN3794

Now I have 1 eggplant, 2 sweet potatoes, the peppers and a little bit of basil left to cook up from the CSA box.

Leave a Reply

