Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Miso Glazed Eggplant and Spinach Goma-ae

on November 2, 2013

The spinach I got is Malabar spinach.  It seems hardier than say baby spinach and has a stronger flavor.  One of the dishes I remember from childhood is spinach goma-ae.  It has toasted sesame seeds,k ground with a mortar and pestle, with soy sauce, sugar and water.  Sometimes it has tofu too.  We had that along with the leftover salmon patties from last night.

DSCN3780

To keep with the Japanese theme, I also made a miso-glazed eggplant recipe from Mollie Katzen’s “Simple Suppers.”  I couldn’t find the recipe online but it’s pretty simple.  Japanese eggplant is cut lengthwise in half then cross-hatched with a knife.  It’s brushed with a marinade of sherry, soy sauce and sugar (I just used diluted soy sauce), wrapped in foil and baked at 400 for 20 minutes.  Then it’s glazed with miso glaze (miso, water, sugar and mirin), and popped back (uncovered) in the oven for 5 more minutes.  My picky-eater husband ate a whole eggplant, so did I (they’re small).

DSCN3778

So now I’ve used up all the spinach, have one eggplant left, plus the peppers, a little bit of basil, and the sweet potatoes.  Oh, and collards.  I think I’ll cook those up tomorrow with a recipe from the “Cooks Illustrated Cookbook.”

Leave a Reply

