Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

My First CSA

on November 1, 2013

This was the first week for the CSA that I’m sharing a share in.  We got collards, peppers, Malabar spinach, basil, sweet potatoes and eggplants.  Last night I was excited about it, thinking I could feature one item each night, and that would solve my dilemma of trying to come up with something for dinner.  Then I woke up this morning wondering and hoping that it won’t be a “chore.”

DSCN3774

One of my friends recently gave me Brian Boitano’s cookbook  I started looking through the index, for all of the ingredients, and found a recipe for pea and basil pesto.  The original recipe includes grilled salmon.  We had salmon cakes instead, made from salmon in a foil pouch.  (I just followed the recipe on the back of the package.)  The photo in the cookbook shows the pesto as sort of a sauce, yet also as a side dish kind of accompaniment.  It all tied together well, the peas in the pesto made it less pungent.  At any rate, it was fun to try.

DSCN3776

Even though dinner was simple, it involved lots of dishes.  I think that’ll be an important criteria for picking recipes – simplicity.

Leave a Reply

