Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Mostly Local

on October 29, 2013

Tonight’s dinner featured mostly local ingredients.  I’m still in a slump and sometimes don’t know what we’re having for dinner until I open the refrigerator and look inside.  I ended up making omelets with vegetables, and crash hot potatoes.  Everything in the omelets was local except for the mushrooms and onions.  The bell peppers came from my sister-in-law’s vegetable garden, and the collards and eggs are from local farmers.  (The potatoes are from a local farm too.)

DSCN3772

For dessert (not locally sourced) we’re having Snickers Peanut Butter Cheesecake.  I used the recipe for Philly 3-Step Cheesecake and added 1/2 cup of peanut butter, plus sliced Snickers.

DSCN3766

Above is the cheesecake before all the batter was added.  I made the mistake of going to Sam’s Club when I was hungry, and bought a 10-pack of full-sized Snickers bars.  I think whole fun-sized Snickers might work better.  When I sliced it, it seems like some of the candy melted into the batter.  Not a bad thing, but for presentation it would look better with chunks of Snickers.

DSCN3773

Cheesecake is my favorite dessert.  Add chocolate and peanut butter and it’s even better.

By the way, for Meatless Monday last night, we just had the last of the garam masala lentil soup leftovers.  The local CSA starts up this week and I’m trying to use up what I already have, before I get inundated with fresh produce.

Leave a Reply

