Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Garam Masala Lentil Soup

on October 21, 2013

We had bread and soup tonight.  I looked up a bunch of recipes online and sort of combined them all, so I don’t really have any links to any particular recipe.  I made lentil soup and threw in some garam masala seasoning, plus curry powder, cinnamon (tiny bit), cumin, cayenne, and pepper.  For veggies, the soup had onion, celery, carrots, green pepper, garlic, and kale.  The flavors weren’t too overwhelming, which made it good.

DSCN3713

I attempted to make sourdough naan.  I think I used about 1/4 cup starter, 2 T. warm milk, 1 cup flour, 1/2 t. baking powder, 1 t. sugar, and 1 t. yeast.  I ended up adding a little more liquid and flour.  The original amounts might have been OK if I’d been patient and left the dough alone.  I patted the dough out into cute little naans.

DSCN3711

Instead of pan toasting them, I threw the sheet into a 450 F oven.  (Last time I made naan, the dough stuck to the silicon sheet (even with flour) and I ended up deflating it.)  I ended up with something that was more like pita bread.  Still good with soup, especially because it was crispy.

DSCN3715

Leave a Reply

