Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Veggie Burgers (+ Harvest Bread)

on October 14, 2013

We didn’t have anything special for dinner tonight, just Boca Chik’n burgers on english muffins.  I was going through the freezer earlier in the day and saw the muffins.  When I bought them, I was trying to be “good” and got whole wheat instead of regular Thomas brand.  No way do they have the same texture!  I don’t like them for toast but I thought maybe they’d be better as buns (they were).

I also had a cup of mashed sweet potato to finish off, so I made King Arthur Flour’s Harvest Bread.  It has sweet potatoes, whole wheat flour, regular flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and a few other things.  I don’t add as much butter and substitute in some flax seed, plus I use brown sugar instead of honey.  I mixed up a big batch of dough.

DSCN3683

The recipe makes huge loaves.  I ended up splitting the double batch of dough into three loaves.  Perfect size.  I didn’t add nuts & raisins this time either, but it is a great raisin bread recipe.

DSCN3686

One response to “Meatless Monday – Veggie Burgers (+ Harvest Bread)

  1. Carmen says:

    If wishes were fishes I’d have you bring a basketful of these to the market Thursday. You would be sold out in the first 30 minutes. They sound wonderful.

Leave a Reply

