Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Rice Cooker Rice Pilaf

on October 8, 2013

This is one of my favorite recipes I found in the newspaper, for Cajun Rice Pilaf.  It’s made by throwing all the ingredients in a rice cooker, turning it on, and voila, 20-something minutes later it’s ready.

DSCN3653

I omit the bouillon (try to keep the sodium down) and I used whatever vegetables I have, today it was onion, garlic, red pepper, snap peas and carrots.  I tried using Penzey’s Berbere seasoning instead of Cajun.  That has cayenne red pepper, garlic, ginger, fenugreek, cardamom,  cumin, black pepper, allspice, turmeric, cloves, Ceylon cinnamon and coriander.

DSCN3655

One of my friends makes a similar rice dish and serves it with eggs, so that’s what we had, along with Kimchi from Trader Joe’s.

DSCN3656

Kind of a United Nations of spices and flavors, but it was good.  I never had kimchi with eggs before, yum.

DSCN3657

The kimchi is past the “best by” date but I figure it has to be OK if the real thing is buried in pots in the ground for months at a time.  Actually I think it was better past the date because it was spicier than some I’d tasted before.

For dessert, I made the Lee Brother’s Sweet Potato Buttermilk Pie.  I’ve seen reviews from both sides of the spectrum, lots of “loved it” but there was one review by a person who made it for Thanksgiving and her mother-in-law told her to look for another sweet potato pie recipe.  I didn’t think it was bad but I liked my version better, with separate layers of sweet potato pie and buttermilk pie.  I’m out of sweet potatoes and buttermilk, now I’ll have to try a different “theme” of pie obsession.

DSCN3646

It’s back to leftovers for the next few days.  I have rice leftover now, plus three bean sweet potato chili, tostada shells, lots of cheese, and frozen black bean burgers.

Leave a Reply

