Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Slow Cooker Sweet Potato and Apple Soup

on October 7, 2013

I’ve lost the motivation lately to plan ahead, what I want to cook.  Usually I find a last-minute recipe on Facebook or from something I see on TV.  I saw this recipe for Slow Cooker Sweet Potato and Apple Soup on Sunday night and fortunately had all the ingredients on hand to make it.

I modified the recipe just a little by peeling the sweet potatoes and apples, and left the potatoes unpeeled.  They all go in the crockpot along with some vegetable stock, onion and garlic.

DSCN3638

After 5 hours, everything is pureed and a pat of butter added.  I tasted it before and after the butter.  I don’t know if I would notice any difference if I hadn’t known what the “secret ingredient” was.  It was perfectly fine without the butter.  I still have tostada shells so I served the soup with tostadas topped with leftover Three Bean Sweet Potato Chili.  I skipped the browned butter sage leaves, since the sage that I have is a little too potent.

DSCN3639

I’m just now starting to like savory dishes with sweet potato.  I liked the soup and will make it again.  I have a little bit of leftovers to experiment with.  Another recipes I found in my cookbooks called for adding curry powder, and a comment on an online recipe mentioned coconut milk.  This would be good for Thanksgiving, for those that don’t like marshmallow-topped sweet potato casserole.

The weather is finally cooling down to where there’s a chill in the air.  I love soup weather.

 

Leave a Reply

