Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Leftovers and Sweet Potato Buttermilk Pie

on September 30, 2013

We had leftover beans, rice, and salad fixin’s made into tacos for dinner tonight.  I haven’t felt like cooking much so I’ve been making big batches of things like beans, in order to have leftovers.

I did make a pie, from the sweet potatoes I got at the Farmer’s Market.  I made the filling from Martha Stewart’s Sweet Potato Pie recipe and Homesick Texan’s Buttermilk Pie recipe.

First I made half the sweet potato pie filling and put it on the bottom of a partially baked pie crust (9 1/2″ deep dish).

DSCN3608

Then I made a third of the buttermilk pie filling and carefully poured it on top.  I used a measuring cup and slowly poured it on in a concentric circle, starting from the edge.

DSCN3609

I baked the pie for 50 minutes at 350F, until the filling was set.  It blended a little bit but enough stayed separate that you can see layers.

DSCN3613

I love this pie.  The sweet potato cuts down on the sweetness of the sugar from the buttermilk filling.

Leave a Reply

