Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Herb Garlic Butter Burgers

on August 30, 2013

I recently watched an episode of “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” that made me want to try making a butter burger.  It’s a hamburger with compound butter inside.  Thanks to the internet, I found a recipe with herb garlic butter.  I didn’t add too many herbs because I was afraid they would overpower the hamburger.  On the TV show, the two patties were used to sandwich the butter, so that’s what I did.  Here are the patties before the butter was sealed in.

DSCN3398

After the patties are cooked, they’re supposed to rest for a few minutes to allow the butter to get absorbed.  I gilded the lily by adding cambozola cheese to mine (camembert & gorgonzola) and my husband had pepper jack on his,  We both had homegrown tomatoes and spinach.  It was very decadent, the whole thing had a wonderful, subtle garlic flavor, and the butter made it rich (as you can imagine).

DSCN3402

The buns were homemade, from sweet potato bread dough.  I mixed everything in the bread machine, then shaped the dough into 6 rolls.  Baked at 375 for 15 minutes.  (Cover with foil if browning too quickly.)

DSCN3399

By the way, this dinner made quite the mess on my stove.  It took me half an hour to do the dishes, and clean the greasy stove and floor.  I had to super clean the stove, washing the grates and knobs.  I think in the back of my mind, that’s why I like lowfat vegetarian cooking, even if sometimes there are more dishes to wash, there isn’t as much of a greasy clean-up.

Here’s what I made the bread from:

6 T. milk (the recipe calls for sweet potato water but I didn’t save any)
1/4 cup mashed sweet potato
2 T. butter
1 T. brown sugar
1/2 t. salt
1 1/2 c. bread flour (I probably used 1 3/4 c.)
1 t. yeast

Leave a Reply

