Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Almost Vegetarian Boston Baked Beans

on August 28, 2013

I’ve been on a bean kick, they are so versatile, we’ve had three different kinds of bean dishes that are nothing alike (lentil burritos, black bean burgers and tonight the baked beans).  They’re almost vegetarian because of the worcestershire sauce, which contains anchovies.  I added a few other ingredients, to up the veggie factor, red & yellow pepper, plus cut down on the molasses and sugar, threw in some BBQ sauce (to replace half of the ketchup), and added cayenne.  Here’s the mixture before water was added.

DSCN3383

Definitely a keeper!  I’m glad I cut down on the sugar, it was sweet enough for my liking.  I was surprised that not using any salt pork or bacon was NOT missed.

DSCN3388

I made buttermilk biscuits to go on the side, following a recipe from the Cooks Illustrated Cookbook.   I quartered the recipe and got 4 biscuits, two cut from the biscuit cutter and two from the pressed together scraps.  Next time I think I’ll pat it out into a square and cut it into quarters.  I always forget how good homemade biscuits are.  (I just used a pastry blender to cut in the fat, instead of rubbing it into the flour by hand – it’s just too hot right now, I’m sure the butter would just melt.)

DSCN3386

Leave a Reply

