Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Salsa Verde Black Bean Burgers

on August 25, 2013

The photos of this burger looked good.  The last batch of black bean burgers I made, I pureed some of the ingredients in a food processor, with this recipe, it’s all stirred by hand.  I mixed it up in the early afternoon and set it in the refrigerator for a few hours.  I wasn’t quite sure if it would hold together for patties, since it was crumbly.  I was also skeptical of the half cup of cornmeal called for in the recipe, but added the whole amount in case it helped bind the ingredients together.

DSCN3348

The patties held together better than I thought.  I really liked that it had more texture than most bean burgers.  I love the fresh veggies in it too.  I did find it a little bland so with the leftovers, I mixed in some Penzey’s Southwest Seasoning, shaped into patties and put them in the freezer.  I’m trying to make entrees ahead of time that are quick to prepare.

DSCN3350

2 responses to “Salsa Verde Black Bean Burgers

  1. Ani says:

    Oh wow those look great! I have experimented with a few veggie burger recipes and they really are quite easy to make! I love these sweet potato and black bean ones: http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/2013/05/24/sweet-potato-and-black-bean-burgers/

Leave a Reply

