Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Curry Lime Vinaigrette with Soba Noodles

on August 19, 2013

Today’s inspiration came once again from ingredients I have in my refrigerator that need to be used up:  coconut milk, cilantro and limes.  The local Mexican grocery store often sells limes for like 20 for $1 so I buy 10, use some, then forget about the rest.  I was down to the last 2.  At first I was going to make a peanut coconut sauce from the Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook.  When I pulled it out, I happened to see Curry Lime Vinaigrette, so I went for that, since I’ve never made it.  I only made half a batch.  I also toasted the curry powder in a pan without the sesame oil (so I wouldn’t have a greasy pan to clean), and used less soy sauce (it seemed like a lot).  Here’s the dressing.

DSCN3314

The recipe suggests making a salad with greens, quinoa, sauteed tempeh, and raisins.  The sesame oil flavor was so predominant (I’ll use less next time), I ended up making a salad with soba noodles and chopped vegetables (broccoli, red & yellow pepper, green onion, carrot).  It was good!  Next time I’ll tweak the dressing ingredients more to my taste, though, less sesame oil, more curry, maybe cayenne, and more lime juice.  I still have a bunch of dressing so I might try it with the quinoa and tempeh or tofu.

DSCN3316

I’ve only been to the Native Foods Cafe once, in Palm Desert.  I loved it and wish we had more vegetarian options in East Texas.  We’re supposed to be getting one in Dallas by the end of 2014.  That’s not exactly local to me but better than nothing!

Leave a Reply

