Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Bean Burger Leftovers – Black Bean Tortas

on July 31, 2013

I made the rest of my bean burger patties smaller than the ones I made on Monday.  I froze about 5 of them and had 2 left for dinner.  I put them in the freezer for about 4 hours, to see if it would help them hold their shape during baking.  I also breaded them with flour, egg and panko.  It worked so much better.

DSCN3129

I put them flat side up, hoping the uneven surface and breadcrumbs on the bottom would make it easier to turn.  I also sprayed both sides with olive oil cooking spray and used Reynolds Release foil.

DSCN3130

It worked!  I made them oval so they would fit the bolillo roll.  I guess you could call it a sweet potato quinoa black bean torta.  I couldn’t eat the whole thing.  I like bolillos because they aren’t as dense as ciabatta.  The last ciabattas I got at Sam’s Club are good but just too much bread.  I got 18 bolillos there too, for less than $4.

DSCN3132

Leave a Reply

