Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Sweet Potato Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

on July 29, 2013

I haven’t had the best luck with bean burgers, but this recipe got good reviews so I thought I’d give it a try.  I was hoping that the sweet potato and quinoa would give it a little more texture.  Maybe I should have mashed the sweet potato and black beans, as the recipe instructs, instead of mixing it in a food processor.  I also used ground up oats instead of chickpea flour.  At first, I had high hopes, the patties were pretty.  When it came time to flip them, though, it was like trying to flip refried beans.  Here, the one on the left is before flipping and the one on the right, after.  I tried a thinner spatula for the second one, it worked a little better but was still difficult to do.

DSCN3122

Really, taste is what’s important, and they tasted pretty good.  I liked the surprise of the cranberries.  Maybe I didn’t have enough sweet potato because my burgers are not as orange as the ones in the photos from the recipe’s blog.  They’re good enough where I want to try them again, with more sweet potato, and more seasonings (chili powder, cumin?).

DSCN3123

We had salad on the side with miso salad dressing.  It’s my favorite dressing for tomatoes.  I used about 1 tablespoon white miso, 3 tablespoons mayonnaise, and some rice wine vinegar to thin.

For dessert, we’re having apple pie.  It has been ages since I made a pie.  I had dough for a single pie crust that I’d frozen.  I made a smaller pie, meaning that it would be too much dough for a single crust but not enough for double.  I tried to do lattice on top.  You can see where I got frustrated (towards the back).  Even with the air conditioner on, it’s difficult to work with pastry in the summer.  The apples are from my shopping at the Farmer’s Market this past weekend.  I always think of my aunt when it comes to apple pie, she made the best.  I miss her, my parents, and aunts & uncles from their generation.

DSCN3121

Leave a Reply

