Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Market Day

on July 13, 2013

I didn’t buy much at the Farmer’s Market today, just some eggplants and cream peas.  I made pizza with some of the eggplant, along with purple potato, onion, green pepper, and feta.  The colors were pretty before it was baked.

DSCN3030

I sliced everything super thin with my benriner (Japanese mandoline).

DSCN3032

I didn’t really taste the eggplant, maybe cubes would have been better.

I made blueberry clafouti for dessert.  Blueberries are sprinkled over the batter before baking.

DSCN3028

Then the berries sink in while the batter puffs up over them.

DSCN3029

While I had the mandoline out, I sliced up a cucumber to make “kimchi.”  I soaked the slices in salted water for a few hours, drained and rinsed them, then added ginger, garlic, cayenne (I don’t have any Korean chili), and green onions.  The cucumbers are from my sister-in-law’s vegetable garden.

DSCN3033

Leave a Reply

