Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Fresh From the Farm Dinner

on July 7, 2013

The last few weeks, I bought too much produce at the Farmer’s Market and food co-op, because it looked so good.  We’ve finally eaten most of it to where I can get more.  So I did.  More tomatoes, pickling cucumbers (the much-coveted small ones!) and purple hull peas.  I’ve never had fresh peas or beans before.

DSCN2987

I cooked the peas in a crockpot with onion, garlic and ham, and served it with cornbread and the last of the white corn (that I got at Trader Joe’s).  My husband likes his beans on top of the cornbread.

DSCN2993

I like everything separate so the cornbread stays crunchy on the edges.

DSCN2994

No, that’s not my portion of the cornbread, I just didn’t want to put it on the same plate as the corn.  The peas were so good, I wish I’d bought a whole bucketful instead of just a small bag.  Then I would’ve had to shell them all, though.  That made me think of having a shelling party, we could have a potluck where everyone brings something made from produce from the Farmer’s Market.  I stress out when I’m cooking for more than a few people, though.  I do think it would be fun to see what dishes people come up with.

Leave a Reply

