Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Eggplant with Gnocchi (plus catching up)

on June 24, 2013

I bought eggplant at the Farmer’s Market this weekend, intending to make vegetable panini.  Then I thought pasta alla norma, and changed my mind again, remembering I have sweet potato gnocchi in the freezer.  I ended up making my own concoction, sauteeing cubed eggplant with onion, garlic, chard, adding fire-roasted tomatoes (I had half a can in the fridge), chopped garlic olives, and oregano.  We had kale and tomato salad on the side, with spiced nuts (garam masala, ginger and cayenne).  I mixed the eggplant with the gnocchi, it’s just separate for the photo.  I’ll make panini with some of the leftovers.

DSCN2873

A few days ago I made homemade vegetable masala burgers, using a Trader Joe’s copycat recipe.  I served them on a flatbread, with avocado and tomato.  They weren’t as spicy as the real thing but still good.  I liked how the patty held together.  It made 6, so I froze the rest.

DSCN2834

This morning I made a batch of granola from Jeanne Lemlin’s cookbook, “Simple Vegetarian Pleasures.”  The recipe is for cranberry almond granola, I substituted pecans and cashews, and didn’t mix in the cranberries.  I added way more goodies than the recipe calls for, so it’s not too clumpy.

DSCN2872

Leave a Reply

