Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Kale and Walnut Pesto

on June 17, 2013

I still have kale and collards from last weekend’s Farmer’s Market.  Even though I cook a lot, it takes awhile to go through produce since there are only two of us.  Tonight we had kale and walnut pesto, on butternut squash triangolo from Trader Joe’s, with a chard salad.  I loosely followed this recipe I found online, only didn’t wilt the kale and used less lemon.  I remembered to save some of the pasta water to use to loosen up the pesto a little too.  I liked the pesto because it’s not as strong as basil.  I have a bunch leftover but I’m anxious to try it out as suggested here, like on hard-boiled eggs and also stirred into mashed potatoes.

DSCN2796

The salad was chard, with a balsamic vinaigrette, cranberries and nuts.  I just used the dressing I had in the refrigerator instead of making more chutney dressing.  I was thinking that if I made this meal for one of those TV cooking shows, the judge would be saying how there is too much acid in the dressing to go with the bitterness of the greens, yada yada yada.  Or that you shouldn’t pair this with that.  Like I said, I just didn’t want to make a new batch of dressing when I already had some.  It still was good, though!

Leave a Reply

