Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Collard Wraps and Broccoli Soup

on June 10, 2013

I found a recipe online using collard leaves as a “wrap.”  Right now I have broccoli, zucchini, collards, and kale from the local farmer’s market.  Last night, we had stir fry (with zucchini, kale, chard and broccoli).  I mixed the leftovers with rice and used it as a stuffing.  I had leftover Thai lime vinaigrette, which I used as a sauce.

DSCN2755

I’ve had the broccoli since last week and it needed to be used up…which led to cream of broccoli soup (recipe from “The Joy of Cooking”).  Add a glass of kombucha, and dinner is ready!  I loved the collard wraps, I blanched a bunch of the leaves to try other fillings.

DSCN2754

For dessert, we had rice pudding.  I had trouble with the crockpot, it would go from watery to overdone just like that.  I tried a water bath method, which worked better, but I still overcooked it.  I don’t want to open the lid constantly but it’s kind of necessary to stir the bottom of the bowl, to see how clumpy the rice is.

DSCN2756

Leave a Reply

