Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday thanks to Trader Joe’s

on May 20, 2013

I did some shopping at Trader Joe’s this weekend.  They had beautiful artichokes for only 99 cents each.  I also bought some masala veggie burgers, mango chutney (to go with the burgers), puttanesca sauce, arborio rice, and a bunch of other staples, along with meatballs and chocolate at IKEA.

We had the artichokes tonight, along with TJ’s spinach lasagna.

DSCN2625

I can’t remember where I got the artichoke plates from.  I may be wrong, but I want to think they’re from Marshall’s or Ross, and that my Mom bought them.  Whenever she found something she liked, eventually everyone in the family would have a set.

The spinach lasagna is just one of the frozen entrees.  It’s so simple but whenever I’ve tried to make it from scratch, it’s just not the same.

DSCN2624

The nutritional information says each one has 340 calories.  It’s not exactly diet food but not calorie-laden either.

I’m making kombucha for the first time.  It’s a fermented drink made from sweet tea and a SCOBY (Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast).  The brew is on its 6th day, and a baby scoby is starting to form on the top.  I may bottle it tomorrow, just because it’s my first batch, and I don’t want the flavor too strong.  I’m going to add it to apple juice and turn it into a “soda.”  I’ll add ginger to some too, just for fun.

DSCN2614

Leave a Reply

