Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Tuesday – Three Bean Sweet Potato Chili

on May 7, 2013

I went out to dinner last night to celebrate a friend’s birthday, so Meatless Monday was moved to Tuesday.  We wen to Jalapeno Tree.  I ate too many chips and a tortilla, that by the time the dinner came, I wasn’t all that hungry.  I ordered the carne asado (that’s how they spelled it!), which was served with a butter sauce on the side.  Since I cook meatless so much at home, when I go out, I usually order meat.  I don’t understand the butter sauce, though, it was salty and greasy (but I’m a gringa Yankee).  Otherwise pretty good, and the tortillas are wonderful.

Tonight we had Three Bean Sweet Potato Chili, from My Whole Food Life blog.  The reviews were so positive, I thought I’d give it a try.  I went with one of the comments and put everything in the crockpot for about 6 hours.  I added the corn the last hour, because I didn’t want it to get mushy beyond recognition.

DSCN2503

The flavors blended well, so that the sweet potato didn’t completely stand out.  It has a sweet overtone to it, with the sweet potato and corn.  I was pleasantly surprised at how good it was.  Definitely a keeper.  I soaked half a cup each of the beans, and ended up with more than half a recipe’s worth (but not quite a whole recipe).  Because of that, I added the whole amount of spices, plus threw in some cayenne and a bay leaf.

DSCN2505

My carnivore brother-in-law thought it needed meat, for the texture.  My sis-in-law suggested tofu or TVP.  The corn added a nice contrast.  I’m thinking it might be good as a vegetarian option for Thanksgiving, and afterwards would be a good way to use up leftover chili and turkey.

Leave a Reply

