Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Brookies with Cream Cheese Swirl

on May 2, 2013

I’ve been wanting to make “brookies,” brownies with chocolate chip cookies on top.  I kept talking myself out of it because it seemed like a lot of work.  After spending an afternoon making dog treats with three kinds of veggies, I thought it was time that the humans got treats too.  I took my favorite recipes and combined them into one.

One Bowl Brownies (I made half the recipe for a 9×9″ pan):
http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/bakers-one-bowl-brownies-54515.aspx

Cream Cheese Swirl:
http://www.kraftrecipes.com/recipes/bakers-one-bowl-cream-50439.aspx
(I used 3 ounces cream cheese, 2 tablespoons sugar, half an egg. and 1 tablespoon flour)

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough:
http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/000158.html

I scooped out the cookie dough and flattened it before putting it on the brownie batter.  Leftover cookie dough got frozen for cookies later on.

DSCN2486

I swirled the cream cheese batter with a toothpick, because last time I used a knife and “overswirled it.”  The toothpick “underswirled” the batter, though.  (Next time I think I will skip the cream cheese layer.)

DSCN2488

Kind of a lot of work but I did get brownies and cookies all at once.  Some recipes for “brookies” just use boxed mix and/or refrigerated dough.  I think it looks fancy and would be good for a party or bake sale.

To balance out the decadence, I made lemon balm “tea” to go with dinner.  There was an article in the Wall Street Journal recently about not-your-garden-variety herbs.  It gave suggestions on what to do with some of the herbs, such as lemon balm.  Crush a handful of lemon balm, steep it in cold water for 10-15 minutes, and it’s supposed to taste like lemonade.  I didn’t think it tasted like lemonade, more like water with lemon, but it was refreshing and easy to make.  I had some leftover after I poured our glasses, and finished the rest after dinner.  The drink steeped longer was not as good, it picked up too much of a “green” flavor, so I’d say the 10-15 minutes is pefect.

DSCN2490

 

Leave a Reply

