Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Smoky BBQ Bowl

on April 29, 2013

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for a smoky barbecue bowl, ever since I saw it on VegNews’ Facebook feed.  I like tofu but was getting tired of Asian recipes.

This recipe calls for marinating tofu cubes in homemade barbecue sauce.  I took the lazy way out and used Kraft Hot (my favorite), plus some Tabasco Sweet & Spicy.  I also pressed the tofu to get rid of some of the excess moisture.

DSCN2471

The tofu gets baked until it gets crispy and chewy.  The main recipe calls for black eyed peas, I substituted broccoli, since I had some that needed to be eaten.  I also used white rice instead of brown.  (I had brown rice but it had gone rancid.  I decided not to buy anymore until I use up what rice I already have.)

DSCN2472

First I took bites of each component on its own.  I wasn’t impressed.  But then, I put together a “perfect bite,” a little bit of everything.  What a big difference!  Truly one of those “sum is greater than the parts” moments.  I love rice bowls and this one is now my favorite.  Easy to put together too, and better for you than a store-bought frozen dinner.

Leave a Reply

