Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Spring Vegetable Burgers

on April 24, 2013

I recently heard that one of the local burger joints is now offering a veggie burger.  I started looking through veggie burger recipes, and thought I’d give Mark Bittman’s Spring Vegetable Burgers (from “How To Cook Everything Vegetarian”) a try.  It’s more of a veggie patty, than a burger.  It has sauteed asparagus, peas, I added onion and garlic, mixed in with mashed potatoes, then it’s shaped into patties and pan fried.  Here’s what they looklike when they first go into the pan.

DSCN2445

I was kind of surprised at how well they held together, without anything to bind the ingredients (like egg).

DSCN2446

The recipe suggests serving it like a regular burger, on a bun.  That’s too much carb even for me, and I can’t imagine eating a “mashed potato sandwich.”  I made more kale chips (I’m obsessed with them now!) and served an egg on the side.  They weren’t bad, but I don’t think I’d make them again, unless I was trying to use up leftover mashed potatoes.  I kind of felt like, I’d rather have mashed potatoes and asparagus separately, than mixed together, for all the chopping and cooking involved.

Leave a Reply

