Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Grilled Artichoke Subs

on April 22, 2013

I’ve kept busy in the kitchen.  Last night, we had baked falafel (which I’ve made before), and panko breaded asparagus.  I thought the asparagus looked pretty but it was too bready for my taste.  It might be one of those recipes good for getting kids to eat their veggies.  My husband liked it, though, he inhaled his.

DSCN2423

For breakfast, I tried an overnight refrigerator oatmeal.  Fill a jar with oatmeal, milk, yogurt, sweetener, applesauce, and chia seeds (I didn’t add them), shake it up, pop it in the fridge, and breakfast will be ready in the morning.  It minded me of muesli.  I think it would be good for a take-to-work breakfast that can be kept in the refrigerator.  It doesn’t look that great in the photo, it’s better than it looks.

DSCN2425

For lunch, we finished off the tempeh from last week, with a Palm Springs Wrap (aka tempeh salad wrap) from the Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook.  The recipe calls for jasmine rice (I used quinoa), tempeh salad, grated carrots, tomatoes, sprouts and a balsamic dressing.  You can tell I made the flat bread because it’s, shall we say, rustic-looking.  I think I’d like it better without the tempeh, just veggies.  There’s a Native Foods restaurant coming to Dallas.  I’m sure their wraps are better than mine, since they have fresh tempeh and seitan.  I’ve eaten at the Palm Springs and enjoyed it.

DSCN2427

For dinner, we had grilled artichoke subs, from the Food Network’s “Sandwich King” show.  The sandwich has a ricotta/garlic/basil/lemon spread, with grilled jarred artichoke hearts, and lettuce.  I added roasted red pepper for color.  I like all of the ingredients on their own, but didn’t much care for the sandwich.  I kept thinking it would taste better on a pizza, vs. on a bun.  I’ll use the leftover ricotta spread on a pizza or in a calzone.  This was one of the few recipes that I printed out, and put out in the office paper recyle…not a keeper.  I only ate half my sandwich.

DSCN2428

Oh, more asparagus too, this time just oven-roasted (350 F for 10-15 minutes).

 

Leave a Reply

