Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Chocolate Granola and Kale Chips

on April 19, 2013

The food co-op I’m in had their drop (pick up) yesterday.  I ordered kale because I’d heard so much about kale chips and wanted to try them.  Most of the recipes I’ve seen were pretty similar:  remove the stem, cut or tear into pieces, lightly coat with oil and salt/seasonings, then bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes.  I went for more like 20 minutes, but I think the most important thing is to keep an eye on them towards the end so they don’t get charred.

DSCN2405

They are so addictive!  They remind me of ajitsuke nori.  Percy liked the chips too!  They would make a great low-calorie snack for dogs.

DSCN2407

One of the other recipes I’ve wanted to try is Chocolate Granola.  Recently I made a peanut butter chocolate granola that involved melting chocolate chips on the hot granola.  Instead, this one has cocoa, with chips mixed in after it has cooled.  Among the online comments was the suggestion to bake it for 40 minutes at 250 F, instead of 50 minutes at 275 F.

DSCN2411

I get the impression it’s more of a trail mix sort of snack, as opposed to a breakfast cereal.  There’s coconut oil in it, which is a strong flavor.  This is my new favorite granola.  I had some candy given to me, to use for baking, so I added that too – chocolate covered raisins and dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds.

One response to “Chocolate Granola and Kale Chips

  1. Carmen y Scout says:

    I have heard sprinkling malt vinegar on the kale before baking is tasty. I love vinegar so I want to try it. They are very addictive. It’s a super easy way to eat an entire bunch of kale in one sitting! Your posts are inspiring 🙂 I’m looking forward to coming back to your page for recipes as I have some free time in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

