Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Crockpot Steel Cut Oats

on April 17, 2013

One of the members of the food co-op I’m in, mentioned cooking steel cut oats in a crockpot.  She shared this recipe with me.  Of course I had to try it.  My crockpot runs on the hot side, so I went with the double boiler method, nesting a bowl inside the crockpot, with a waterbath.

DSCN2388

Eight horus later, it looked like this.

DSCN2389

I previously had cooked steel cut oats in the microwave, on the “grits” setting.  It takes about 7 minutes.  I don’t know if it is the milk in the crockpot recipe, but this version is so much creamier.  I refrigerated the rest for breakfast for the next few days.

DSCN2392

2 responses to “Crockpot Steel Cut Oats

  1. Carmen y Scout says:

    How was the leftover oatmeal? I bet is was super tasty. I have a whole bag and no slow cooker. Maybe I need to look into getting another one!

    • Diane says:

      The leftover oatmeal was a little gummy but tasted fine. I reheated it in the microwave but maybe if I’d simmered it on the stove a little, it would have “dissolved” more.

Leave a Reply

