Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Lentil & Rice Bean Burritos

on April 14, 2013

Awhile back, I made spicy lentil enchiladas.  I made the same filling and put it into burritos for dinner tonight.  I also made a knock-off Chipotle cilantro lime rice, since I bought a bunch of cilantro.  The rice was easy, I just made put a cup of basmati rice into the rice cooker, added water to the appropriate line, then flipped it on.  Once it was done, I added oil, lime juice and chopped cilantro.

DSCN2367

I know some people absolutely hate cilantro, I’m just the opposite.  I made a half batch of “lighter” cilantro pesto from Mark Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” cookbook.  It’s just cilantro, oil, salt, garlic, and lime juice, all whirred together.  No nuts or cheese.

DSCN2368

Everything went into whole wheat tortillas, along with avocado and lettuce, and some pickled jalapenos.

DSCN2370

The lentil filling recipe makes a lot, so I made up burritos from the rest of the package of tortillas, wrapped them in foil, to put in the freezer.  I regularly buy El Monterrey frozen burritos, and thought maybe homemade would be better for us.  At least there are fewer chemical-sounding ingredients.

DSCN2371

I still had a little filling leftover even.  Not sure if Meatless Monday tomorrow will be leftovers or if I will make something new.

Leave a Reply

