Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Southwest Chicken Coleslaw and Peasant Bread

on April 11, 2013

I didn’t get to post last night because of book club.  It’s kind of appropriate that I made something from a recipe I found on a blog called Hot Eats and Cool Reads, for Southwest Chicken Coleslaw.  The binder is Ranch dressing, and it has spices like cumin and chile powder added to it.  I always forget about changing up salad dressings with different spices.  I’ll have to remember that next time I make Ranch dressing again.  I changed the recipe a little by adding leftover grated carrots, and omitting tomatoes (since I didn’t have any).  I also added some chopped onion, and substituted turkey for chicken.

 southwest slaw

I ended up putting it into corn tortillas for a sort of “turkey taco.”  It was good but the corn tortilla kind of overpowered the flavors.  We had leftover plain coleslaw for lunch today.

southwest tacos

Tonight we had leftover broccoli cheddar soup.  I made Peasant Bread to go along with it.  It’s from a bread machine cookbook, but my bread machine is inconsistent so I just mix the dough in the machine then shape it by hand into loaves and bake in a regular oven.  Here, I repurposed some plastic containers that bulk spinach came in, for proof covers.

breadrising

The dough only has 5 ingredients:
1/2 cup water
1 tsp.l sugar
3/4 tsp. salt
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1 tsp. yeast

The cookbook actually calls for 3/4 cup water, which worked when I was in California.  Here in Texas, though, I only need 1/2 cup.  I used an 8×4″ pan and got loaves that didn’t quite make it over the top.  For sandwich bread, it would probably be better to double the recipe and use a 9×5″ pan.  This was more baguette sized and perfect for soup.  This is the bread I make most of the time.  (It makes good toast, but browns quickly.)

breadbaked

Leave a Reply

