Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Happy Easter

on March 31, 2013

It’s a gloomy, rainy day, perfect for cinnamon rolls.  Here they are before frosting…

DSCN2301

I didn’t try too hard to make everything even, some rolls are big, some are small.  The small ones are good for “sneaking a bite.”  I made a cream cheese frosting, to go on top.

DSCN2302

I put a lot of cinnamon in the rolls, so there isn’t much cream cheese flavor, but it does kind of help the frosting not be overly sweet.

DSCN2303

With a cup of Peet’s coffee, it was a perfect Easter breakfast.

For dinner, I made a bean soup from a many-bean soup mix.  I followed the recipe on the back of the bag, adding onion, garlic, carrot, bay leaf, seasonings, diced tomatoes, to the pre-soaked beans.  Towards the end I added chopped cabbage.  I was going to make cornbread but when I was looking for the recipe, I flipped past a popover recipe and went with that instead.  I always forget how easy they are to make.

DSCN2309

The dry ingredients are flour and salt, the wet ingredients are milk, butter and egg.  I sprinkled in some parmesan cheese too.

DSCN2312

Leave a Reply

