Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

The Last Supper – Sweet & Sour Tempeh

on March 26, 2013

Tonight was my “last supper” before my first colonoscopy.  I made the sweet & sour tempeh that I’d wanted to make last night.  I did a hodge-podge of recipes, including the Basic Tempeh Prep from Tofurky’s website.  It involves marinating sliced tempeh in water, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, and sesame oil.  The recipe calls for 2 cups of water and 1/2 cup of soy sauce.  I scaled it down to 1/2 cup of water and 2 tablespoons of soy sauce.

DSCN2283

The strips are then either sauteed or broiled.  I opted for broiling.

DSCN2284

I winged the recipe for the sweet & sour sauce, mixing together about 2 tablespoons each ketchup and cider vinegar, a tablespoon each of sugar and cornstarch, in the leftover marinade, along with some pineapple juice (I had leftovers from the mini pineapple upside down cupcakes a little while back).

DSCN2285

I was feeling lazy as far as veggies or salad go, and sliced up some apples for the fruit/veg component.  I’m still not crazy about tempeh, but at the same time, want to play with recipes.  It doesn’t taste bad, it’s almost like it’s too bland.  I have some leftover strips that I’m going to try making tempeh pate from the Native Foods Cookbook.

Leave a Reply

