Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Plain Old Veggies and Udon Noodles

on March 25, 2013

DSCN2281

I had planned on making something with tempeh today, but got lazy and just made a plain old veggie stir fry with udon noodles and peanut sauce.  I did like Rachael Ray and “eyeballed” everything for the sauce:  peanut butter, soy sauce, ginger, hoisin and water to thin it out.

DSCN2278

Earlier in the day, I made homemade energy bites, from a recipe a friend gave me.  I had a hard time keeping the mixture stuck into a ball.  I ended up using a piece of plastic wrap, putting a bit of dough in the center, and twisting the top, squeezing the ball together.  I like that they are stored in the freezer, you just pull some out when you need them.  Next time, though, I think I’ll try toasting the oats and wheat germ, letting it cool first, so it doesn’t have such a “raw grain” taste.

I got to try out my homemade cookie stamp today.  I had looked online to buy one, and they sell for like $10, not including shipping.  I thought I’d get crafty and make my own, by using oven bake clay from Hobby Lobby, imprinting a pattern with a rubber stamp, baking the clay, then using it for the cookie stamp.  It worked pretty well except the clay did not stay flat when I baked it.  It’s a little uneven on one side.  I covered it in “release” foil to keep the dough from sticking.  It worked like a charm.  The design is a paw print since these are dog treats.  I still have enough clay left to make 3 more stamps, maybe even one or two for human cookies.  (And the clay was only $1.27, and happened to be 30% off that week.)

DSCN2279

 

 

2 responses to “Meatless Monday – Plain Old Veggies and Udon Noodles

  1. Carmen y Scout says:

    Are the energy balls you gave me from the original batch or the toasted oats & wheat germ batch? Whatever ones they were, they were TDF! In Dominicana they use date paste as a natural sweetener in baked goods and treats. I wonder if that would be a good substitute for the honey…or do they need the moisture? Don’t ask me where to find date paste either!

    • Diane says:

      They were the toasted batch, but actually there isn’t much difference in the flavor, aside from the coconut (which is better toasted). The honey acts in part as a binder for the oats, along with the peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

