Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – General Tso’s Tofu

on March 18, 2013

I’ve just recently discovered “The Big Bang Theory” and have been watching old reruns.  After awhile, it made me crave Chinese food, since they eat take-out all the time.  Add to this, the crossword puzzles often have General Tso as one of the clues/answers, I thought I’d try General Tso’s Tofu.

Reading through the comments, some people suggested baking the tofu instead of frying it.  Another suggestion was to marinate it before coating it in egg and cornstarch.  I mixed up a little soy sauce, chili garlic sauce, ginger and sesame oil, put everything in a Ziploc bag, and let it marinate for the afternoon.  After dredging it in egg and cornstarch, it all went on a baking tray at 325 F for 30 minutes.

03.18.13-tofu

I didn’t add as much sugar (1 T. instead of 4 T.) to the sauce mixture, and added more chili garlic sauce and a small amount of hoisin sauce and sesame oil.  For the veggies, I added carrots  snow peas, and mushrooms…thinking of Food Network’s Ellie Krieger and her advice to “eat the rainbow.”

03.18.13-tso

I like this so much, it’s going to be my regular “stir fry” sauce.  For the tofu, I might skip the dredging in the cornstarch.  Since it’s mixed in with the sauce, any crispiness disappears pretty quickly.

I had some of the egg left over, as an experiment, I put it in the microwave and scrambled it.  I used to do this all the time for Nuclear Medicine gastric emptying studies.  Basically you microwave the egg for about 30 seconds, stir, then microwave again until done.  This method works well for Nuclear Medicine procedures, since radioactive TcSC is added, and using something disposable like a styrofoam cup, it’s easier to store the “hot trash” vs. using a skillet (you can’t rinse out the skillet in the sink since it would contaminate the sink with radioactivity).  The egg turned out surprisingly fluffy.

03.18.13-eggs

3 responses to “Meatless Monday – General Tso’s Tofu

  1. Valerie says:

    Your Gen Tso meal looks really good! Did you find it spicy? =)

    • Diane says:

      It was spicy, but I like it that way. In addition to the red pepper flakes called for in the recipe, I added chili garlic sauce.

      • Valerie says:

        Good, that’s what I was hoping for because my husband loves spicy and I was thinking about making this for him! Yay, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

