Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

New Toy – Cast Iron Grill Pan

on March 15, 2013

I’ve been wanting a grill pan for awhile.  I have a George Foreman grill, which I like, but it doesn’t work well for thick sandwiches (like tortas), plus it’s hard to clean.  When I started looking, I saw Calphalon type pans running around $50.  I looked online and found that Lodge has a cast iron grill pan for less than $20.  I’m thinking it will practically forever, so I ordered one from Walmart, ship-to-store.  It works great for tortas, the bread gets toasty without being too smushed.  Last night I tried veggie burgers (Lightlife Backyard Grill’n burgers).

DSCN2160

First I cooked the burgers, then put everything together (sauteed mushrooms, tomato, pickles, etc.) and toasted the sandwich.  I love these veggie burgers!  I like Boca and Morningstar Farms too, but this is my new favorite.

DSCN2161

For book club earlier this week, I made mini pineapple upside down cakes.  I was afraid of making a big mess when unmolding them, so I lined the cupcake tin with liners.  The topping was kind of crunchy, either I didn’t cook down the butter & brown sugar mixture enough, or it couldn’t bubble away in the pan.  I was also disappointed that the cake part deflated after cooling.  It all tasted good, though.  It was even better the next day.  At first I had thought of this recipe as a “tweaker,” one I want to try again, but change a little, but now, the only changes I think I’ll make are to bake the cake directly in the pan, make sure the brown sugar is melted, and use pineapple chunks instead of crushed pineapple.  Oh, and maybe use a bigger muffin tin.

DSCN2164

On the left is the cupcake “right side up” and the left is “upside down.”  By the way, if you like Downton Abbey, you might like Sesame Street’s version, “Upside Downton Abbey.

Leave a Reply

