Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Spaghetti alla Puttanesca

on March 11, 2013

This may sound fancy, but it was just spaghetti with jarred pasta sauce.  But not just any pasta sauce…Trader Joe’s puttanesca.  It has anchovies, olives and capers, and a bit of spice.  I had picked it up the last time I was in Dallas.  Since I never tried it, I only got one jar.  I wish I had a whole case.  It is so good.  Somewhere I read a review that said it tastes like the ingredients were just chopped.  It really does.  I made salad and cheese toast to go with it.

DSCN2138

For dessert is Paula Deen’s Peanut Butter Pie.  I’ve been wanting to try it, ever since one of my friends mentioned that it’s one thing that Paula won’t give up.  It’s got to be good, right?  The filling is just cream cheese, peanut butter, powdered sugar, evaporated milk (I used half and half), and Cool-Whip.  I made a chocolate graham cracker crust instead of regular graham, since I had some crumbs left over from something else I had made.  When I tasted the filling straight from the bowl, I thought it was kind of sweet, but it mellowed out after setting in the refrigerator for a few hours.  I might try using plain whipped cream instead of Cool Whip next time.  It’s one of those desserts that’s easy to throw together, that I want to keep ingredients stocked in my pantry for.

DSCN2136

Here’s the pie nestled in the Pyrex pie carrier that my brother gave me, many years ago.

Leave a Reply

