Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

3-2-1 Microwave Cake

on February 28, 2013

The science geek in me had to try this 3-2-1 Microwave Cake recipe.  The master mix is 1 box of angel food cake mix and 1 box of regular cake mix, any flavor.  Measure out 3 tablespoons, mix in 2 tablespoons of water, then microwave it for 1 minute.  Let stand for 15 minutes.  The “secret” is the leavening in the angel food cake mix, that eliminates the need for adding anything else.

321cake1

I used devil’s food cake mix.  You can see how the angel food cake mix lightened up the color a lot.  Angel food also had an almond flavor in it, that is quite noticeable.  I toned down the power level to 9, as well, I’ll probably try 8 next time, because the cake was a little dry.  It turns out light and spongy, it would be good with fresh fruit on top.

321cake2

I’m glad I only mixed up half a batch. I like the cake but I think I would get tired of the same flavor all the time.  I had wanted to try lemon but the store was sold out.  White or vanilla cake would probably be good too.

Leave a Reply

