Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Veggie Burgers and Chocolate Gelato

on February 25, 2013

I found a veggie burger that I haven’t tried yet, Lightlife, at Walmart the other day.  I bought the Farmers Market Veggie Burger flavor, which had veggies & barley.

lightlife

I was planning on just serving them on regular bread, then decided to try making homemade burgers buns.  I found a recipe in my ancient bread machine cookbook, that incorporated water, nonfat dried milk, sugar, salt, butter and flour.  I was fighting the gluten when I patted them out, and was afraid they would be too small.

burgerbuns

In the end, it worked out.  I don’t like it when the bun overpowers the burger.  I added sauteed baby bellas, onion, cheese, avocado, lettuce, tomato and jalapenos.  (I don’t mind a lot vegetable toppings, though!)

veggieburger

The veggie burger was OK.  I liked that it wasn’t overly salty (only 280 mg.) and high in protein (16 g).  I thought it would have more mushroom flavor.  I noticed there is a portobello mushroom variety.  I’ll have to see if I can find that one at the store.

For dessert, I made Sicilian Chocolate Gelato, from an Alice Medrich recipe.  There are only four ingredients, milk, cocoa, sugar and cornstarch.  No cream.  No eggs to temper into the milk.  Easy!  I had seen a recipe for Double Chocolate Cookie ice cream, which calls for layering chocolate chip cookie bits into the ice cream.  I had a jar full of Trader Joe’s Way More Chocolate Chip Cookie crumbs in the freezer, and used those instead.  I love this gelato, it’s rich with less fat than regular ice cream.  (I’ve tried making vanilla with the cornstarch “technique,” but it didn’t turn out as well.)

gelato

I put two bowls in the freezer for later.  Time to get them out for dessert.  The gelato is good right out of the ice cream freezer but a little soft.  When it sets in the freezer, it’s almost too hard, but it softens setting out on the counter for a bit.

gelatowithcookiecrumbs

One response to “Meatless Monday – Veggie Burgers and Chocolate Gelato

  1. Thanks for the mention!

Leave a Reply

