Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Chicken Tortilla Soup

on February 23, 2013

I had a hankering for tortilla soup, and had forgotten I had a Pioneer Woman cookbook on my Kindle.  The recipe is online too.  I like reading books on an ereader but still have a hard time dealing with cookbooks, since you can’t really flip or thumb through them.

Her recipe calls for baking the seasoned chicken breasts before adding them to the soup.  When I’ve poached them, they turn out dry, and I liked this way better.  (I had the thermometer out because the chicken was thick in the middle and I just wanted to make sure it was past raw, even though it would simmer some more later.)

chickenbreast

My can of tomato paste was bulgy so I ended up using some leftover salsa instead. I added probably double the amount of seasonings.  Another change I did was to bake the tortilla strips before adding them to the soup, so they’d be crispy.

tortillastrips

The comments online mentioned adding lime juice too (did that at the end), plus a handful of chopped cilantro.

tortillasoup

I love this soup.  It could be vegetarian with more veggies and no chicken.  Or with Thanksgiving turkey leftovers.

One response to “Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

