Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Valentine’s Day Tacos

on February 14, 2013

Valentine’s Day is not a big deal in our house anymore but I still wanted to do something special.  I saw some nice-looking strawberries at the store yesterday, which made me think of chocolate-covered strawberries.  I can’t believe I’ve never made them before.

strawberries

We had tacos for dinner, made with leftover chicken and beans.  I was too lazy to put together a salad, and put extra lettuce & veggies on top to make up for it.

valentinetacos

I watch Rick Bayless’ show on PBS (Mexico On A Plate), and the peanut avocado salsa he made was intriguing.  It has peanuts, cilantro, avocado, lime and serranos.  At first I was afraid the peanuts would overpower the avocados, but when mixed with the cilantro, it sort of balances out.  I like how it doesn’t turn all yucky brown, even after sitting for a few hours in the refrigerator.  It would be really good on nachos.

peanutavocadosalsa

Leave a Reply

