Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Meatless Monday – Baked Tofu and Mushrooms Hoisin

on February 11, 2013

I don’t know where the time goes, it seems like Monday rolls around so quickly.  I had half a block of tofu leftover from last week (stored in water in a tupperware), and the last of the giant container of mushrooms from Sam’s Club, to make tonight’s dinner.  The recipe is from Jeanne Lemlin’s “Simple Vegetarian Pleasures.”

Cubed tofu and quartered mushrooms (and I added broccoli) are marinated in a mixture of soy sauce, sesame oil, vegetable oil, gingerroot and garlic.

tofumarinating

Then it’s all put into a pan, in one even layer, and baked in a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes, tossing once with a spatula.  A hoisin peanut butter sauce (hoisin sauce, soy sauce, peanut butter, sherry – I used mirin, and scallion) are poured on top and mixed in, and it’s baked for 10 more minutes.

bakedmushroomsandtofu

I wasn’t in a rice mood so made quinoa instead, in the rice cooker.  My aunt gave us the rice cooker when we got married, I always think of her when I use it.  Quinoa has 5 grams of protein per serving.

quinoa

Et voila!  With salad and cornbread (leftover from last night), dinner was ready.  This is one of my favorite tofu recipes.

bakedtofumeatlessmonday

2 responses to “Meatless Monday – Baked Tofu and Mushrooms Hoisin

  1. Carmen says:

    I was anxious to see what delicious concoction you came up with after I read your ingredient list earlier today. This looks delicious. I have brown rice sitting on the counter for tomorrow’s dinner but I think I’ll whip out the quinoa instead. Great idea! So, how long did you marinate the tofu and mushrooms?

    • Diane says:

      I marinated the mixture for about 5 hours at room temp. The recipe says for over 8 hours, to refrigerated.

      Sent from my Kindle Fire

      _____________________________________________

Leave a Reply

