Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Lentil Enchiladas

on January 21, 2013

A week or two ago, I found a recipe for lentil enchiladas that I wanted to try, but I didn’t have refried beans and had to postpone it.  Anyway, we had it tonight.  The filling is lentils, salsa, and water cooked up, mixed with green chiles and refried beans.

lentilenchiladafilling

It’s rolled up into tortillas, topped with sauce and cheese, then baked.  I added a few sliced olives, and served it with sour cream, onions, and pickled jalapenos.

lentilenchiladas

I used 8 corn tortillas and still had filling leftover, but I can use it for burritos or quesadillas.  This was really tasty.  Normally my enchiladas are dry, but the refried beans kept it moist.  The lentils added texture to the beans.  The recipe is definitely a keeper.

For dessert, we’re having lemon-glazed pound cake, from King Arthur Flour.  My sister-in-law had a bumper crop of lemons, we’re not sure if they’re Meyer.  I don’t like using zest from store-bought lemons, since it’s questionable what is on the rind.  So when I get home-grown lemons, I try to find recipes that use the zest.  The recipe online calls for lemon oil, but the cookbook recipe says lemon zest can be used (1 tbsp.).  Here’s the batter, before I smoothed it out.  You can see how thick it is.

poundcakepre

After the cake is baked and cooled for 10 minutes, holes are poked in the top and the lemon glaze is poured on.

poundcakeglaze

I only made half the recipe, and baked it for about 45 minutes.  It might have needed a few more minutes, you can see the stripe at the bottom where the batter hadn’t quite risen, plus the cake deflated a little after I took it out of the oven.

poundcakelemon

It tastes good, although it’s not quite as dense as I would expect from something called “pound cake.”  Still, better than a boxed cake mix because it wasn’t overly sweet.

Leave a Reply

