Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Armadillos & Grits

on January 20, 2013

Last night we had ham, that I had bought during the holidays and wanted to cook up.  As a side dish, I made Armadillo Potatoes.  It’s basically potatoes sliced partially through, stuffed with breadcrumbs, cheese, paprika, S&P, and olive oil, then baked.  (I just realized I didn’t add paprika!)  I also used small new potatoes, since that’s what I had, and didn’t cut them in half since they were already little.  Judging from the picture on the recipe website, I think the paprika makes the “segments” more pronounced.

armadillo

It was a fun side dish.  I thought it needed more seasoning, though, like garlic salt or butter.

Tonight, we had mushroom, ham and cheese omelets, with cheese grits on the side.  The grits recipe is from Alton Brown and got a lot of positive reviews.  I made the mistake of trying to cook while watching the 49ers in the NFC Championship game.  I set the water and milk on to boil and then got distracted by the game, producing a big mess on the stove.  I used about half the butter, although it’s not a huge amount, and added some garlic salt for seasoning.  This was so good.  This Sansei  Yankee from California never would have pictured herself cooking grits for dinner.  (Actually, I like them for breakfast with butter, sugar & milk.)

omelette&grits
Not much to look at, but it was good!

I made half the recipe (2 instead of 4 servings).  It made a LOT.  I have a whole bowlful leftover.  I have no idea what to do with the leftovers.  I know with polenta, you can slice it up and fry it in a pan.  Maybe I’ll try something like that.

grits
Lots of leftovers

Leave a Reply

