Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Brussels Sprouts Pizza

on January 15, 2013

I watch shows I’ve recorded while I’m drinking coffee in the morning.  Today it was “Unique Eats” from the Cooking Channel, and the theme was pizza.  One of the restaurants was Motorino in New York.  They have a brussels sprouts pizza, using the leaves scattered over the pizza.  It looked intriguing.  And then I found a recipe online.

brusselspizzapre'
Here’s my pizza before it was baked.

I brushed the dough with olive oil, scattered on chopped garlic, then added cheese, sauteed onions, thinly sliced brussels sprouts, crushed red pepper, and since I had a can open, fire roasted diced tomatoes.  The restaurant uses pancetta, I used chicken apple sausage instead.

brusselspizzabaked
The baked pizza.

What I liked about it was that it wasn’t too heavy or greasy.  In fact, I ate about 3 hours ago and now I’m hungry again.  I found the menu for Motorino online, and their brussels sprouts pizza is $16.  I know things in New York are expensive, but really???  My sister-in-law bought a ready-to-bake pizza from the local grocery store Fresh for only $10, that was tasty.

This is the most I’ve cooked in awhile.  During the summer, I’d alternate cooking days with salad days.  When it’s cold outside, as it is today, I like meals that warm the belly as well as the soul.

One response to “Brussels Sprouts Pizza

  1. Bridget says:

    Love sprouts! I am going to try it for our next pizza night.

Leave a Reply

