Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Vindaloo

on January 14, 2013

I had wanted to make veggie enchiladas but the recipe called for refried beans and I didn’t have any.  While looking in my pantry, I found a handful of garbanzo beans…that’s what we had, as vindaloo, using up more bits & pieces from the refrigerator…cabbage, calabaza squash, potatoes, carrots,  plus onion & garlic.  I followed the basic recipe on the label of Patak’s Vindaloo paste, that I got at Fresh.

curryveggies
Here are the veggies before the curry & tomatoes were added.

Basically, it was sauteed veggies, the garbanzos, then 1/4 cup of vindaloo paste, 3/4 cup water, and 1/2 cup diced tomatoes.  I let it all simmer until the potatoes & carrots were tender.

vindaloo
Served with basmati rice

I’ve used this paste before but I don’t remember it being sooo spicy, and I like hot food.  It was good but the heat kind of overpowered everything else.  I think I’ll use half mild curry paste and half vindaloo paste next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

