Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner…and then some

In the kitchen at Di's House

Fettuccine with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms

on January 11, 2013

My sister-in-law shares a lot of stuff she gets at Sam’s Club, and I inherited a bunch of brussels sprouts.  Originally I was going to make them au gratin (saute them, add cream and top with buttered crumbs).  I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to have to cook something else as the entree, and found a recipe for Creamy Fettuccine with Brussels Sprouts and Mushrooms.  A bonus is that it’s from Eating Well, meaning that it’s healthier than what I was originally planning.

fettucinebrusselsmushrooms

I only made half the recipe, used regular (not whole wheat) pasta plus less of it, no sherry, and mostly pecorino romano for the cheese.  It was good and simple to make.  I thought it needed more seasoning but I’m not sure if it’s because I used a different cheese.  I like that it can be a basic recipe and other ingredients substituted, like broccoli, chicken, peas, etc.

Leave a Reply

